To Kill A Mocking Bird – Harper Lee

Atticus Finch, a depression-era Southern attorney, fearlessly defends a black man accused of raping a white woman. The story is told by Atticus’s daughter, known as Scout, and how she and her family deal with the racism and hate toward not only the blacks in their community, but also them because Atticus is defending the black man.

I enjoyed this book on the second reading, not the first though. My first reading was for school and I had to do an essay about the theme and plot and how it’s message is still around today. But, On the second time reading it, for leisure and this website, I was able to get more invested and I honestly enjoyed it more than I had thought. I read it my freshman year in high school and I only wanted to get through it. But, on my second reading, I felt as if I was part of the story. Ms. Lee is excellent when it comes to immersing the reader into her work and using not only imagery, but similies and metaphors for what is going on and to pass her message on. My only complaint is that it was a slow read at first, in the first few chapters it is only world building and building to the plot. The descriptions took some time but I enjoyed the way that I could use her words to elaborate on what the setting looked like, and what the people looked like. I enjoyed the message of tolerance and doing the right thing because it is right as opposed to hopping on the band wagon.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in realistic fiction and who enjoy a slice of life story. I rate it on my new scale as a solid 7 out of 10. I will post my other ratings in another post for my previous reviews. I was introduced to the rating by my cousin. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

