Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice is a tale of just that, Pride and Prejudice. The main character, Elizabeth (Lizzy) Bennett, is a woman who is not willing to settle with just anyone and is very open about her choices. Lizzy and her only elder sister Jane are bookish, smart, and want what they want. Where Lizzy is outspoken and bold, Jane is often shy. Their three younger sisters are Charlotte, Kitty, and Lydia Bennett. Charlotte is shy and bookish, reluctant to share outside of the family. Kitty and Lydia are both boy crazy girls who chase after soldiers to be their husbands. Their mother Mrs. Bennett is pushing to get her girls married to good men with money whereas their father wants them to settle with the right man. When a new neighbor comes to town, the Bennett family is swept into the drama of love, pride, prejudice, and questions.

Pride and Prejudice is considered a classic by a great many people and is filed as such but, it is not everyone’s cup of tea. Personally, I did not want to read it but I had to for one of my college classes. The beginning is rather boring to me personally and I had a hard time getting through the first half without falling asleep. Then, Darcy proclaimed his love, even though he is kinda kicking himself in the seat about it with Lizzy being so far down below him. That is when I got interested. That is where I felt everything started getting faster as the climax neared. The characters are developed very well, I feel as if I know them and I feel as if their arcs are complete. I enjoyed the drama created with such subtle build up to it. Over all, if you like Realistic Fiction that has drama and a slow build up I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

